top of page

I've Got Dreams To Remember...A Love Letter To My Sons...

My dearest Cristian and Carmelo, the two individual loves of my life. You, who

teach me daily what real love is. It is patience. Understanding. Kindness. Critical

Thinking. Listening. Considering. Forgiving and Accepting. Dedication without expectation, and loyalty. It is ever evolving.

Today I got to thinking about dreams. Childhood dreams, current dreams, dreams of the future, my dreams for you...Thinking about life and the ups and downs we all have and will face. I wanted to share a moment of clarity, or an 'aha moment" - as Oprah would say. You know Mami has always approached parenting in a non-traditional way.

We have an open forum of discussion,where your thoughts and concerns are not only welcomed, but encouraged. I love to hear your stories everyday after school, and understand how you see the world. The belief that children should be "seen and not heard" is archaic to me. I also don't believe that "punishing" you, by depriving you of things to teach you a lesson, is an effective way of parenting. That only breeds resentment and anger. This in my opinion, is one of the quickest and most effective ways to kill a child's ability to dream.

Instead I encourage you to evaluate each situation and investigate why you do (or did) something. Then help you understand what that behavior or choice caused in your life, and to the people around you (me, your sibling, etc). Every action has a reward or consequence attached to it. Process that information, and how you felt about your choice and action. Make amends and a commitment to yourself and your family to correct the behavior so that you can continue to evolve and become a better human being. Not for you to make me feel better about things - but for your own consciousness and awareness, so that you can be an asset to the world. I am your guide. Yes, I carried you for 9 months, and gave birth to you. But all of that was a greater purpose - far beyond what I can even imagine. As much as I love and absolutely adore you, you do not belong to me. You are not my property. I just get the unbelievable privilege to be your parent, your teacher, your protector, your shoulder, for a short while, until you reach manhood and have to make these decisions all on your own.

But while you are on your journey, and life's ups and downs get in your way, do not ever allow anyone - even me - to dull your vibrant spirits! If I should ever forget the magic that I taught you to believe in, direct me back to this message! As we grow and the pressures of day to day responsibilities become heavy, our dreams can begin to take a back seat to the lives we envisioned as children; the dreams that set us upon our paths.

So while I am still of sound mind, yet bright in spirit, I want to tell you to remember this....Never let anyone steal your dreams from you! No matter how outrageous or ridiculous they may seem. Just think, how ridiculous would the concept of light be for those who had only ever lived in the darkness? Those who believe in magic find it, and those that do not, never will.

And as you grow to be strong, courageous, kind, and thoughtful men one day...on the path of discovering, unveiling, and living your most outrageous dreams, just remember that my greatest joy in life has been the honor of being the one God chose to deliver you to.

My Deepest Love Always,

Mami

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page